## ARROWHEAD UNION HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING JANUARY 8, 2020 MINUTES

The meeting was called to order by President Rosch at 7:00 p.m. in the District Office Board Room.

Everyone rose for the Pledge of Allegiance.

Members present: Bob Rosch, Sue Schultz, Craig Thompson, Darrell Beneker, Dave Dean, Tim Langer Absent and excused: Kent Rice, Donna Beringer, Amy Hemmer

Administration present: Laura Myrah, Jeff Gross, Adam Boldt, Sue Casetta, Gregg Wieczorek, Ryan Mangan

Others present: Pat Noll, Nicole Kaiser, June Ernst

The meeting was properly posted.

Moved by Langer, seconded by Beneker to approve the minutes of the December 11, 2019, Regular Board meeting as presented. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

Moved by Langer, seconded by Dean to approve the operating bill list and pay vouchers 1219, 153486-153552, 153554-153618, and 201900180-201900209, in the amount of \$1,224,655.47 and to approve credit card expenditure transactions as presented in the amount of \$105,734.18. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

COMMUNICATIONS AND COMMENTS FROM MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC - None.

## SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT -

Mr. Pat Noll, Ms. Nicole Kaiser, and Ms. June Ernst, Arrowhead Scholarship Fund (ASF) board members, shared information about the foundation and answered questions. ASF was established in 1958 and incorporated as a charitable organization in 2003. The purpose of ASF is to raise scholarship monies for seniors graduating from Arrowhead High School, and includes students pursuing technical/manufacturing education at a technical college. To-date, more than \$2.2 million in scholarships have been awarded. In 2019, 82 students received scholarships totaling \$84,000. They also shared that the scholarship application process for students is now entirely online. Future fundraising events they have planned include a Trivia Night, as well as the 21<sup>st</sup> annual dinner/auction, which will be held on April 17, 2020, at the Club at Lac La Belle.

Mr. Ryan Mangan, activities director, presented the Fall 2019 Activities/Athletics Report and answered questions. He also highlighted some of the many ongoing co-curricular community service/fundraising projects that students have participated in.

CURRICULUM - The next Curriculum Committee meeting is scheduled for January 23, 2020, at 6:45 a.m.

FINANCE & LEGISLATION – Mr. Gross updated the Board of Education regarding the status of the 2020/2021 budget development process and timeline. He also noted that this is the second year of the state's 2019-21 biennial budget.

The next Finance Committee meeting is scheduled for February 25, 2020, at 7:00 a.m.

BUILDINGS & GROUNDS – The next Buildings and Grounds Committee meeting is scheduled for February 5, 2020, at 7:00 a.m.

President Rosch also noted that a Board of Education Work Session is scheduled for January 15, 2020, at 6:00 p.m., to discuss campus facilities needs and fiscal matters.

PERSONNEL – The next meeting of the Personnel Committee is to be determined.

POLICY – The next meeting of the Policy Committee is to be determined.

WASB – The WASB Delegate Assembly will meet on January 22, 2020, and vote on the proposed 2020 Resolutions. The 2020 Wisconsin State Education Convention is scheduled for January 22-24, 2020, at the Wisconsin Center in Milwaukee.

CESA – No report.

NEW BUSINESS:

There were no employee resignations/retirements presented for action by the Board of Education.

Moved by Schultz, seconded by Thompson to approve the 2019/2020 support staff letter of appointment for Lauren Harmon (Homebound Tutor); to approve the following 2019/2020 cocurricular letters of appointment: Boys Golf – Asst. Coach Patrick Witt; Boys Tennis – Head Coach Russell Trimble, Asst. Coaches Tracy Ford, Aravind Aravindan, and Susan Sorenson; Boys Track – Asst. Coaches Mike Mulrooney, Mike Ray, Neil Smedema, Geoff Steinbach, Brent Ribble (50%), Mason Snell (50%), Ron Reichle (50%), and Carl Goehner (50%); Girls Lacrosse – Head Coach Thomas Truttschel, Asst. Coaches Steven Mayer, Allison Schroeder (50%), Margaret Ross (50%), and Jennifer Jones (50%); Girls Soccer – Head Coach Scott Asher, Asst. Coaches Logan Martell, Becky Gouger, Todd Kowalewski, and James Kolokoski; Girls Softball – Asst. Coaches Jim Albers and Kenneth Nyhouse; Girls Track – Co-Head Coaches Allison Delzer and Rebecca McCann, Asst. Coach Brent Ribble (50%); Forensics – Co-Head Advisors Rayen Elmergreen and Angie Rodenkirch; and to approve the 2020/2021 and 2021/2022 administrative contracts, as presented. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

Moved by Schultz, seconded by Dean to approve the following new open enrollment seats in the regular education program for the 2020/2021 school year: 140 in grade 9; 77 in grade 10; 81 in grade 11; and 88 in grade 12, as presented. Motion Carried.

Moved by Dean, seconded by Schultz to approve zero (0) new open enrollment seats in the special education program and eight (8) new open enrollment seats in the speech and language services program for the 2020/2021 school year, as presented. Aye – 5 and No – 1 (Langer). <u>Motion Carried.</u>

There were no donations presented for action by the Board of Education.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS - None presented.

Moved by Schultz, seconded by Beneker to adjourn. Motion Carried.

The meeting adjourned at 7:37 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Diane Hoag Recording Secretary

Susan M. Schultz, Clerk